nomadangels.blogg.se

Smartphone email signature examples
Smartphone email signature examples












The first from a photographer who was tired of explaining his unavailability: "Sent from my iPhone during a knife fight in a crashing helicopter above the Nicaraguan rainforest. A physicist suggested, "Sent from one of the impossibly small curved dimensions of spacetime responsible for gravity" and a Star Trek nerd used "Sent from my Holodeck" and a Star Wars fan uses, "Sent from a galaxy far, far away." "Sent from my iPhone while pooping." Ah COME ON MAN) as well as some plays on the idea that the sender is right near you (1. We also got, "Sent from an outhouse on Mars," and several other literal potty jokes (e.g. Arrom Azam uses "Sent from a hole in the ground," inspired by the Israeli prisoner Gilad Shalit, "who was kept, literally, in a hole in the ground for five years. Niklas Holmberg went the opposite direction: "Sent from above," which he recommends for "people who are very tall or actually believe they are God." The one with the six-week waiting list." Or from 30 Rock, "Sent from one of my 4 iPads." And finally, playing on the Cult of Mac, "Sent from the my iDol."Īnd then things start to get a little weird.Īltering the presumed location of the sender generated some strange variations on the theme. The iPhone 6 or the iPhone 6 Prototype or even the iPhone 7. The most common status variation had to do with giving yourself a version of the iPhone that does not exist yet. His signature? "I have an iPhone." Why? "What truly mattered, and the reason I changed my signature, was that I HAVE AN iPHONE!!!!!!" I take those exclamation points to be ironic. Godon Speckhard delivered another subtle variation that I sorta love. Have I told you guys I have a standing desk, too? Well, I do. It's a play on the status part of the message, "People with standing desks are always telling you they have a standing desk, too," she wrote, "like iPhone emailers telling you they have iPhones. Sent from a typewriter (Alexis Madrigal).Įmily Hopkins sent in the signature, "I have a standing desk." I puzzled over that one for a while, but then I read the backstory. (Yes, I know I'm taking this too seriously. Using this general form, we can create a loose taxonomy of the signature edits. But the type of device conveys an implicit status message, while the presence of the line provides an in-advance apology for any errors as well as an indication you're mobile out there in the world (or at least not at your computer). The surface content of the message is that you're receiving a message from a device. Here's the general form of the message (explicit stuff is in brackets):Īpology/Location/Status from You put a single line of text in front of millions of people, and they start to - en masse - decompose it into playable components. Instead, I wrote you an essay breaking down the data! (Bum trade, sorry.) What really caught my attention is that people saw a basic grammar to iPhone signature witticisms.

smartphone email signature examples smartphone email signature examples

I know I promised you a best-of list, BUT. This data derives, of course, from our request yesterday that you send in your favorite edits to that line of text that phone companies so gauchely added to mobile emails: "Sent from my iPhone," etc. And a lot of Wikipediaing for the uninitiated.

#Smartphone email signature examples tv

Here is a list of devices from which you, dear readers, claim to send emails: Commodore 64, carrier pigeon, homing pigeon, courier pigeon, fountain pen, rotary phone, hammer and chisel, tin can via the string network, typewriter, abacus, Apollo Guidance Computer, Atari, car phone, shoe phone, 1984 Samsung car phone, difference engine, Game Boy Color, IBM Selectric, pocket rocket, Remington S元, souped-up TV remote, steam powered digital telegraph, TI-83 Plus, TI-89, toaster, UNIVAC, Coleco Adam computer, Moleskine notebook, Pony Express, Skynet, space age phonograph, and smoke signals.












Smartphone email signature examples